Voting starts at 7 today

Kathmandu, Dec 7  /  Voters armed with their voter identity cards started streaming into polling stations early in the morning, as voting started at 7 am today. It will continue until 5 pm today.  The second and final phase of the elections to the House of Representatives and State Assemblies are taking place in the remaining 45 districts today. The polls will elect 128 parliamentary and 128 provincial representatives.

A total of one crore, 22 lakhs, 35 thousand and 993 voters are expected to cast their votes from the total 15,344 polling centers.
Under the first-past-the-post system, altogether 1663 candidates for the House of Representatives, and 2819 for the State Assemblies are competing. Likewise, under the proportional representation, 110 candidates for parliament, and 5,838 for province are in the race.
Voter turnout is expected to be 75 percent against 65 percent in the first phase of the polls held earlier on November 26.

The districts where the elections are taking place include Ilam, Terhathum, Dhankuta, Udayapur, Jhapa, Morang and Sunsari under Province 1, Saptari, Siraha, Dhanusa, Mahottari, Sarlahi, Bara, Parsa and Rautahat under Province 2, Sindhuli, Makawanpur, Chitwan, Kavrepalanchok, Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur under Province 3. Likewise, other district witnessing the polls are Nawalparasi (east of Bardaghat Susta), Tanahun, Kaski, Syangja and Parbat under Province 4, Nawalparasi (west of Bardaghat Susta), Palpa, Argakhanchi, Gulmi, Rupandehi, Dang, Pyuthan, Banke and Bardiya under Province 5, Salyan, Surkhet and Dailekh under Province 6 and Kailali, Kanchanpur, Dadeldhura, Achham and Doti under Province 7.

Meanwhile, heavyweight candidates Prime Minister and Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, and NC leader Dr Arju Deuba will cast their ballot from a polling station at Ruwakhola in Dadeldhura. Likewise, former Prime Minister and CPN (UML) Chairman KP Sharma Oli will exercise his franchise from a polling station at Balkot in Bhaktapur Suryabinayak Municipality-2.  Former Prime Minister and CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ will cast his vote from a polling station at Shantipur in Bharatpur Metropolitan City-14 in Chitwan.

11657 times viewed